I remember when I moved to town and was waiting for my bike to arrive in the mail.  It took 5 days and I took the bus everywhere while I waited.  Of course, there’s nothing wrong with taking the bus, especially if you want to get a taste of TriMet culture (which is REALLY interesting) and don’t mind all the waiting,  but when my bike came a whole world of possibility and freedom opened up.  I suddenly was able to navigate Portland on my terms!

So, If you’re new to town and would like a bike while you scope out the scene but aren’t ready to commit to buying a new or used / refurbished / vintage bike, renting a bike is an obvious option.  It’s also a great way to become familiar with Portland’s bike lanes and neighborhood greenways that you’ll be riding on your way to play, work, eat, play, and eat some more when you get settled.

